The Academic Common Market (ACM) is an association of 15 states (AL, AR, DE, FL, GA, KY, LA, MD, MS, OK, SC, TN, TX, VA, and WV) formed to permit out-of-state students to major in selected programs at participating institutions while paying in-state tuition rates. Each ACM state outside of Alabama typically allows its residents to participate in the University's programs through ACM.

When it has been determined that UAH offers the desired program through the Academic Common Market, applicants should initiate application procedures by contacting his/her home state's Commission on Higher Education (or the equivalent office) and requesting permission to pursue the desired program at UAH. Additional information and a listing of contacts by state may be obtained from the Southern Regional Education Board's website ( Under the heading "Programs and Services" select Academic Common Market.